Call to Service, Overwhelming

Sgt. 1st Class Darryl Zuchelli stands ready to re-enlist in the Army Reserve at the National Capitol

Sgt. 1st Class Zuchelli re-enlisted in the Army Reserve for the third and final time.

Excerpts from an article by Michelle Tan|Army Times |April 17, 2006

“With the U.S. Capitol as his backdrop, Sgt. 1st Class Darryl Zuchelli re-enlisted in the Army Reserve for the third and final time.”

For Zuchelli, a veteran of Operation Iraqi Freedom, the call to serve was so overwhelming that he had to wipe tears from his eyes when he spoke to Army Times.

“Freedom isn’t free,” he said. “These are tears of joy, and tears for our fallen soldiers, the ones that aren’t coming home.”

Sgt. 1st Class Darryl Zuchelli in front of the White House with other Reserve Soldiers who reenlisted during the first National Capitol Reenlistment Ceremony in April 2006.Reenlistment Ceremony

Sgt. 1st Class Darryl Zuchelli and Soldiers who reenlisted during the 1st NCRC pose for a picutre in front of the White House.

2 Responses to “Call to Service, Overwhelming”

  1. KAYDALYNN Says:

    Hey
    i just wanted to know wat it is like out there.. im going to join in 2 years so i want to b prepared for wat im going into and does it change u emotioaly

  2. Sgt Paul Henson Says:

    Warrior Citizen, Sgt Paul Henson, US Army Reserve

    Hi, I am Sgt Paul Henson, and I reenlisted at the 2007 NCRC. I am from Delhi Louisiana and stationed with the 412th Theater Engineer Command, a 63B, serving as an Electrical inspector. After an 18-year break in service, I came back in the Army Reserve.
    To answer some questions:

    Why did I join: Because of friends and I enjoy serving.

    My most rewarding or memorable moment: Personally meeting our Commanders.

    Why do you continue to serve: It is my country.

    How does your commitment to serve affect your everyday actions? Everyone that knows me knows I am a soldier and they respect that.

    I am currently stationed in Afghanistan; the attached photos were all taken in Afghanistan. One includes my son (Drew) Wiley Andrew Henson and I Christmas day 2009 New Kabul Compound Kabul, Afghanistan.

    Additional photos can be seen at http://wp.me/PD3Oe-rp.


Leave a Reply

