So, I’m a blogger

Sgt. 1st Class Stephen Pate

Blogger, Sgt. 1st Class Stephen Pate

My name is SFC Stephen Pate, and I am a reluctant blogger. I’ve tried this blogging thing before. I discovered that I had a propensity to write short essays on random topics. The apparent application of this is supposedly blogging.

After an initial storm of posts with subjects ranging from home improvement to martial arts to amateur gunsmithing to the virtues of open source software, I now average about one entry per year. For the most part I’ve given that up and stick with a couple of message boards instead.

This piece is supposed to be about my experience and qualifications to blog, but it seems as though I have none. A single college course in English composition does not qualify one to be a commentator on retention issues, and my prior Infantry experience certainly doesn’t help.

The only reason I can think of that I was selected for this gig is that I am reasonably proficient with computers, which in my mind at least does not directly correspond to blogging. So greetings StayArmyReserve readers, I look forward to making nearly incomprehensible rants that are moderately related to your USAR career.

Leave a Reply

