Sgt. 1st Class Boris O. Cornejososa

Washington, D.C.-I am Sgt. 1st Class Boris O. Cornejososa, one of your bloggers for the 2010 Army Reserve National Capitol Reenlistment Ceremony and Quality of Life Family Readiness Conference. I was born in El Salvador and immigrated to the United States in 1988. I knew since I was a little boy that I wanted to be a Soldier. I joined the United States Army in 1994 after becoming a permanent US resident.

In the Army, I have served in a variety of assignments which include: Infantryman, Infantry Team Leader and Army Recruiter. After spending approximately 9 years in the Active Army, I decided to separate upon completing my contractual obligation.

After my separation from the Army, I served as a Police Officer with, in my opinion, one of the best Police Departments in the nation – The Los Angeles Police Department. While serving as a Police Officer, not a day went by that I did not think about the Army and the strong bonds I forged with other Soldiers.

In 2004, I spoke to Sgt. 1st Class Armando Solario, an Army Reserve Career Counselor in the Los Angeles area. He spoke to me about his job and what he did for the Army Reserve. I immediately made the decision to transfer from the Individual Ready Reserve and reenlist in the United States Army Reserve. Since reenlisting in the Army Reserve, I have had the pleasure of serving as an Army Reserve Career Counselor and Accessions Career Counselor. The best part of my job is that I get to provide career guidance and mentorship to Soldiers who are at the same point where I was a few years ago.

Leave a Reply

